New federal riding boundaries on the way for residents of Milton, Halton Hills


Published February 14, 2023 at 3:09 pm

Residents in Milton and Halton Hills will have to get accustomed to new federal ridings as the boundaries are changing before the next election.

The Federal Electoral Boundary Commission for the Province of Ontario was tasked with drawing 122 electoral districts in the Province of Ontario.

The goal of the redistribution was to get around 116,590 residents in each riding. Historical patterns, communities of interest and identity, and manageable geographic size for districts in sparsely populated, rural or northern regions of the province were also considered.

Here are how the new ridings in Halton are breaking down.

  • The north portions of Halton Hills and Milton, including Acton, will be in the riding of Wellington-Halton, The southern boundary will be 15 Sideroad, then north on Trafalgar Rd. to 22 sideroad.
  • Georgetown-Milton East will contain all of Georgetown. The southern boundary is Dundas St. in Oakville. The western boundary will run through Milton, starting at Hwy. 25, east on Britannia Rd., north on Thompson Rd. West along Main St., back to Hwy. 25 to 15 Sideroad.
  • The other side of Milton will be part of the Burlington-Milton West riding, joining up with all of Burlington north of Dundas St., then following Hwy. 407 to King Rd., taking in the neighbourhood of Tyandaga.


INhalton's Editorial Standards and Policies