Help decide Evergreen Award winner by reading nominated books at Halton Hills library


Published July 10, 2023 at 4:09 pm

The Halton Hills Public Library participating in the 2023 Evergreen Award, an adult recreational reading program, through the Forest of Reading program.

The program will see participants explore 10 titles from familiar and up-and-coming debut authors, by reading, discussing, and then voting for your favourite book.

“The Evergreen Award program is a perfect way to engage with some of the best titles in Canadian fiction and non-fiction,” said a library spokesperson.

“It’s one of 10 programs that form the Ontario Library Association’s Forest of Reading, Canada’s largest recreational reading program of its kind with more than 270,000 Canadians participating each year.”

Through August, the HHPL will be highlighting the books nominated for the Evergreen Award. Local residents can participate in the award program by checking out the nominated titles, available in print and digital formats.

Participants are encouraged to talk about the nominees with their book group or group of friends, and even pick one title to champion as your favourite. Voting for the Evergreen Award will take place in September by visiting the library or casting your ballot through the HHPL website.

The 2023 nominees for the Evergreen Award are:

  • Cobalt: Cradle of the Demon Metals, Birth of a Mining Superpower by Charlie Angus
  • A Convergence of Solitudes by Anita Anand
  • Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands written and illustrated by Kate Beaton
  • Her First Palestinian: and Other Stories by Saeed Teebi
  • Mad Honey by Katie Welch
  • Sea of Tranquility: A Novel by Emily St. John Mandel
  • Son of Elsewhere: A Memoir in Pieces by Elamin Abdelmahmoud
  • This is Assisted Dying: A Doctor’s Story of Empowering Patients at the End of Life by Dr. Stefanie Green
  • Toufah: The Woman Who Inspired an African #MeToo Movement by Toufah Jallow, with Kim Pittaway
  • Valley of the Birdtail: An Indian Reserve, a White Town, and the Road to Reconciliation by Andrew Stobo Sniderman and Douglas Sanderson

Visit the Evergreen Award page for more information and place your hold for these titles in the Library Catalogue.

INhalton's Editorial Standards and Policies